A Promise Of Shadows, A Book Review

Promise Of Shadows, A Book Review

Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 6.13.47 PM

So….  when I googled the title “Promise Of Shadows”, this popped up… Damn Google, that be one fine list. I’m not kidding when I say this list goes on for a few rows, overkill much? It’s like google is advertising for this book, no jokes look at this magnificent wall of titles.

It’s like that song by Celine Dion, “Every night in my dreams, I seee youuu, I feeeeeel yoooouuuu”, google obviously feels this way.

EH ehmmm, moving on, This book was actually pretty good, I applaud you Justina Ireland. It’s been awhile since I’ve read an eventful book and this quenched my thirst. Let’s begin with a summary, Zephry Mourning (*Sigh*, I wish I had a name like that), is a Harpy… you know those mythical birds with wings? CAW CAWWWW,

Harpij_-_I.I_Schipper_1660,_graveur_Matthius_Merian,_naar_J.Jonstons'_-Naekeurige_Beschryvingh_van_de_Natuur-

https://www.google.co.th/search?q=harpy+picture&espv=2&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj9prTNxvHSAhXMMo8KHSFqAbYQ_AUIBigB&biw=1440&bih=699#imgdii=YEEHN7bUrip-iM:&imgrc=wazILRz2Y2B3FM: (Link for image)

hey there Zephry you lookin mighty fine. OK how bout this, we pretend she’s pretty and she’s supposed to have beautiful blue locks of hair, so just imagine this picture with the hair colored in blue. Anyway, as I was saying Zephyr mourning finds herself in the land of the dead aka the underworld, (the place where the god Hades resides). Because she has comitted a heinous crime… SHE HAS KILLED A GOD (this isn’t a major spoiler cause it’s on one of the blurbs….. yeaaaaaah). This novel follows Zephry as she makes a journey of self discovery and finding out who she really is. ‘Cause this chick can cause some serious damage with her magic. I can’t say anymore because then I would ruin the book for you guys (my deepest and most sincere apologies).

18048733

Let’s make one thing clear, I love it, absolutely love when books are stand alone, especially if they rock. These days I find that authors really want to squeeze the money out of people so they write three books; first book (Is usually the best in the series and totally awesome), Second Book (This book is mediocre and is basically like a bunch of filler episodes), Third book (THE FINALE, where nothing and everything happens and where you get a happy ending, ewww…). Unless an author actually has action in all three books including unexpected plot twists, I tend not to enjoy series. THEY BORRREEE MEEEEE. However, I will do reviews of series or read them to change up pace of things or if the first book in a series is good (which it usually is, so then I end up buying the whole series and hating it \(*O*)/ whyyyyyyy).

In general I enjoyed this book, but I didn’t like the author’s writing style. BUT WHYYYYYYYYYY, I think that Justina Ireland had an amazing story complete with amazing characters, yet her writing style made everything so much less enjoyable. Her writings style was a bit childish bordering on annoying and the vocab was just… UGH. Climatic points, for example when Zephry swears revenge, become supper anticlimactic because of how the author chose to write the novel. DICTION, DICTION, DICTIOOOOOONNNNNN.

AND THE GRAND FINALE, Drum roll pleaseeee….. It hath been rated 7/10, and is also recommended to people who enjoy books with gods and goddesses. It’s a light read including some romance, so buckle yourselves up and enjoy the ride!

Hopefull I’ll read a better novel next time, Cheers

Dreamer (Aka Juliet)

 

Leave a Reply

